Open road

Broken down, rusted old vehicles.

Barns left vacant with roofs collapsing.

I pass these,

I notice.

My eyes

are on the horizon.

I am over wondering who belongs to these things.

I’ve packed and I am gone.

I wish I hadn’t spent so much time,

wondering,

when no one was home.

Open and welcoming,

light guides my way.

Past bystanders,

Past the broken dreams

towards a new direction.

I don’t look back

because that door

is closed.

The horizon,

scarlet and orange,

shows me the way home.

One thought on “Open road

Leave a Reply

