Waiting on the world to change

We are all part of the problem… and the solution. I’ve worked for non-profit organizations for over 15 years. In my work life and personal life, I’ve protested, written letters to my congressperson, organized my people. I belong to the change the world club and am an active participant in the “get up and do something to make the world a better place” speakers bureau. I promote positivity and optimism and truly believe that people at their core are good and loving. I do all of this because I truly believe that we can make the world a better place.

So here is today’s epiphany… I have done all of these things for peace and wellness, promoted, written, spoken out in support of others and their missions which is all a beautiful thing. Today I realized that my action has largely been by following someone else’s lead. Someone higher up, or with more experience or education or someone I viewed as “wiser” was the authority on the action plan. That was my story anyways. I didn’t know, that I have the power to change the world too. Just me, by my thoughts and actions. It turns out, I am good enough just the way I am. It doesn’t matter what I have been though, only that it has made me stronger and that I show up believing in myself today.

I’m getting a promotion next month.
Today, as I asked my colleague about leadership and how to fulfill this new role, it occurred to me that I don’t need someone else to me tell how to do this. Mentors and coaching are always beneficial, for sure. But the tool I really want to foster is listening to and believing in myself. It’s time. It’s time to stop waiting on the world to change.

Leave a Reply

