Hope. Take some and pass it on…

373940_10150440040626808_327297171807_10615315_545448318_nMy great hope is to laugh as much as I cry; to get my work done and try to love somebody and have the courage to accept the love in return. -Maya Angelou

Hope. I gave hope to a loved one a couple of years ago, it was in the form of a little sign/ornament that hangs up. It wasn’t just an ornament. It was a symbol for a secret promise. It had wishes, dreams, desires and love all wrapped up in those 4 letters. I don’t think he knew all of what it meant because well, I didn’t tell him. But I knew. It hung on his wall for a few seasons. I loved seeing the light reflect off of that hope. I don’t know where it is these days but that hope still stands in my heart. Strong and true.

Hope springs eternal they say. Perhaps that is naive. Perhaps wishful thinking but I believe in hope. For the world, for my community, my family, and myself. Deep down I know that this world is fundamentally good. I see that bad stuff happens all the time.The work that I do leads me to the food bank, the domestic violence shelter, and homeless youth drop in center on a regular basis. My eyes meet with  those people who are in a different circumstance than me at the moment, but fundamentally we are the same. I see the caring and selfless acts of kindness that come from the hardworking staff and volunteers who believe in hope.

I have been on the receiving end of supportive services after a challenging run in my life. I could have lost hope. At times I thought I might. We all have situations that make us question if we will ever be happy, safe, or financially secure. But hope is the great knowing that everything is going to be alright. It’s the spark in the middle of our tummies that keeps us going. It’s the spark that friends, family and nonprofit service providers shared with me in my time of need. And now, it is my turn. It only takes one person doing something from their heart to create hope in someone’s eyes. When I got out to food stamps to pay for groceries and the cashier scowled at me, it’s the person behind me in line that smiled and said, “I’ve been there, you’ve got this.” It’s the friend who brought groceries to my door right when I needed them.

Several days a week I stand in front of crowds and tell stories of hope. I share my story, or of the inspiring Grandmother who cares for her disabled granddaughter is doing much better these days, or of the homeless family who lives in a warm home thanks to their self resilience. After my talks, people come up and thank me for sharing and ask how they can help. Why? Because deep down we all believe in hope. Some have to dust it off and other’s wear it as glimmering pendant lighting the way for others. Either way, it is in each of us. All you have to do is believe. And then, share a little hope with someone. How will you share hope today?

2 thoughts on “Hope. Take some and pass it on…

  1. Beautiful! Thank you for this cup of hope.

    I think this may be another meaning to your blog “Sparkle Tea”. Because not only does it sparkle with the thoughts you share, but it also “sparks” thoughts in those who drink it.

    Some sparks, sparked from your sparkling beverage:
    To have hope in a world where all is not light and beauty and love and peace, sometimes feels saying yes to an assignment to stand as a guardian of a beam of truth in a lighthouse, that those whose boats are troubled and tossed, can have light to help them find their way home.

    How vital to “believe” to “have hope” in the intrinsic majesty of life and our Creator. I find when things are feeling heavy in the human world, and I’m needing a refreshing cup of “God Reality Tea”, I can turn to the sweetness and beauty of the natural world to feel rejuvinated. There I see the intricate, refreshing, healing, design of the Creators handywork. Or I can look into the eyes of child, where the truth and beauty of God’s spirit still shines brightly. I think it’s a lot like the saying “beauty is in the eye of the beholder”. When God lives in my heart, it’s easy to see through this “lense of the heart” into a world where some have forgotten God, forgotten who their “first love”is designed to be, and their light seems to be hiding. Yet seeing more as God sees, it’s easy to see through the maya that surrounds people to the beautiful jewel that God has placed there. Hope is such a great gift to give to our worlds, and is so needed. May we be emissaries of hope, emissaries of peace, emissaries of truth, emissaries of love.

    My spiritual teacher taught me about Seven Archangels that God has sent to help us here. (3 are mentioned in the bible – Michael, Gabriel, and Raphael). It’s interesting that that they all have “divine complements” as partners, and that the name for Archangel Gabriel’s partner is “Hope”. It could be a sweet experience to meditate upon these two Archangels and see if greater dimensions of understanding come of this precious quality of “Hope”.

    An old song came to mind when I read your thoughts, and I’ll leave the words here – perhaps you will remember its’ tune.

    I Believe

    I believe for every drop of rain that falls, a flower grows
    And I believe that somewhere in the darkest night a candle glows
    I believe for everyone who goes astray
    Someone will come to show the way
    Yes I believe, oh I believe
    I believe above the storm the smallest prayer will still be heard
    I believe that someone in the great somewhere hears every word
    Every time I hear a newborn baby cry
    Or touch a leaf or see the sky
    Then I know why I believe

    Every time I hear a newborn baby cry
    Or touch a leaf or see the sky
    Then I know why I believe
    I believe
    Oh I believe

  2. I just read the words in the picture re: strength
    AMEN !! We all have our wounds, and places needing healing, forgiveness, love and peace. These need the fullness of love in us, as we accept responsibility for all the wounded parts, no matter how they got that way, and see ourselves as having the fountain of the wellspring of life within us, to pour out the needed blessing – that will let the desert places in our bodies, minds, or hearts “blossom as a rose”.

Leave a Reply

