Holding the best intentions

I heard something yesterday that kind of took my breath away, and not in a good way. Complicated and big, someone shared their challenging situation with me. They were brave and honest. Now what?

What do you do when you someone trusts you enough to share something big with you? And you feel discouraged?

I don’t know but I get quiet. I meditate, pray and attempt not to overanalyze. (Which is hard.) I also get quiet to process what my response is. I have witnessed and personally done a lot of reacting in my day. I have also tried taking on the situation of the person as my own. It’s hard not to take something on and try to fix it when you care about someone.

To me, it’s a great honor to be entrusted with someone’s tough stuff. It means they see me as someone trustworthy of hearing their challenges. When someone is brave enough to share difficult things with me, it is my pleasure to be able to listen. And then, hold the best intentions for them. Our reactions can get in the way of a precious interaction with someone who needs our support if we aren’t careful.

When someone comes to us with a challenging situation, ultimately all we can do is love. We can listen and problem solve too, but love is really where it’s at. Always.

One thought on “Holding the best intentions

Leave a Reply

