My baby boy’s birthday – he is a gift.

My baby boy is turning a year older this weekend. 6 years old. How did that happen?

I have three beautiful kids. Each unique and precious in their own ways. This little guy’s big heart fills the room. And his smile reaches from one dimple to the other.

This little boy changed my life. When I was 6 months pregnant with him, I filed for divorce from the man who is now my ex-husband. I had no idea what I was doing, I just knew we needed to be safe, secure, healthy and these were not part of the life we were living. It’s been 6 years since he was born. When I welcomed him into this world, I named him after an angel. And that he is.

My ex-husband was there for the first two births, but not this one. This was me, my parents, and my newborn son. There are no words for how beautiful and hard that was. So vacant and so much potential. So frightening and brave at the same time.

This little man has brought  many gifts into my life. One of them was a gentle and powerful reminder. To believe in myself and my family so much, that I could stand up for what’s right. It’s right to be loved and honored and safe and to do whatever it takes to make that a reality. Even if it is the hardest thing you have ever done, you will come out the other end eventually. And in my case, be much stronger because of it. My kids are my joy and top priority. Period. Sure there is working so we can eat, exercise for my body, time with friends and loved ones, but these guys are my sunshine. Their twinkly eyes, how they fall over laughing at something, and the “just because” cards that show up at my doorstep.

People say, “I don’t know how you do it!” To me, I am the lucky one. Yes, up until now I have been doing it myself and I won’t pretend that has been always easy, but I would’t trade it for a minute. It has made me into the person I am today. And she is way more awesome than she used to be.

As I planned for tomorrow’s birthday party I started crying. It occurred to me that we have been a little team, my three kids and I. I can’t count the number of times I said to myself, “we are gonna make it”. And somehow, we are.

Thank you for the gifts you have brought into my life little man, I am so thankful for you. Very Happy Birthday.

2 thoughts on “My baby boy’s birthday – he is a gift.

Leave a Reply

