Making the most of the situation

IMG_2751It turns out I things don’t always work out the way we would like them to. Sometimes despite our best intentions, bad or weird things happen. Just look at this week in the news, ugh. I met one of these”things don’t always work out”  moments today. Man have I tried to make this particular situation work with love, sweat and tears. My vision was so clear, and yet, not this time.

Well that stinks you are probably thinking, yeah I think so too.

So…now what? Old dreams and visions float off into the distance. Sad, potato chips and macaroons have their moment. And then, it’s time to make the most of the situation. I’m not there yet, but I know what it looks like and I can do it. I figure that I am really lucky to have had some extraordinary moments. Some treasured times that are just mine that no one can take away. So I take a look at them, honor those moments, and put them away in my treasure box, for safe-keeping.

Sometimes things work out easily and that is wonderful. I would like an order of that please. But when they don’t it’s ok too. Not comfortable, but still alright.

There are many well worn sayings like, “pull yourself up by your boot straps”, or “make the most of the situation”, or “every little thing is going to be alright” and those are true. So…I’m going to tell myself every little thing is going to be alright and eventually, it will be.

One thought on “Making the most of the situation

  1. You are right. While in the tender moments of emotion, of struggle, of having a chance escape and a loss of what could be, we find triumph in being human and knowing another day will come and with it a way to heal from the past. You are wise. It is tender, be gentle, and nurse your wound, and then in your own time when you are ready to get up, you’ll understand why it was to be this way. It is only then that you’ll be able to look between the distance of now and then and see what else was hidden and needed to come forth and be.
    You are not alone and I thank you for sharing your words.
    ~peace

Leave a Reply

