To be a vegetarian or not, that is the question

I eat pretty healthy, generally speaking. Tonight I made Quinoa with cilantro, tomato, purple cabbage, and avocado. It was delicious!

This morning I had nonfat plain yogurt with blueberries and a piece of toast. Lunch was a veggie sandwich.

I met a friend for dinner last night who is a vegetarian. I have been a vegetarian off and on for years, mostly off for the last 10. Something clicked as I listened to my friend. That, and the remarkable documentary “Forks over Knives” I just watched, about they healthfulness of eating a plant based diet. This film discusses how eating this way can cure many health concerns such as diabetes and heart disease.

That makes a lot of sense and it reminded me that I just don’t want to eat meat. Maybe fish and eggs. Tonight around a friend’s campfire this subject came up an someone said they were raising pigs to slaughter for bacon and pork bellies. That is super logical and more ethical than purchasing meat from who knows where, but all I could think was, gross.

I didn’t really grow up on meat. Chicken and fish mostly. In recent years I have eaten more red meat. I need more protein, I tell myself. The truth is, meat is delicious. And I’ve become lazy, compliant and I haven’t taken the time to really think about what I want my food choices to be.

I’m not sure what my choices will be but one thing is I will be more conscious of choosing to eat meat…or not.

Tonight? Kale, it’s what’s for dinner.

Leave a Reply

