Unveiling the artist forgotten

20130915-143215.jpgTonight I had dinner with a friend who reminded me about parts of myself I had forgotten. It’s funny how we say we value certain things but don’t spend time actively doing them. For example, painting. I love to paint. The colors, textures, mixture, shapes. Time just melts away into nothing. I don’t notice if I am hungry or thirsty, and a clock is the farthest thing from my mind. In the busy “to dos” of life, I had forgotten this love until the words came out of my mouth and surprised me.

Maybe it’s because I work full time and have young kids. Or maybe it’s because my kiddos are my priority. Or maybe it’s because I’m not surrounding myself with people that bring out this part of me. Or maybe I’m just too tired at the end of the day. Whatever the reason, maybe it’s not good enough if when I talk about creating art my insides light up like fireworks.

I love the quote, “life is what happens while you are busy making other plans.” Essentially, can’t one’s life be made up of buying stuff, watching tv, and surfing Facebook if we aren’t careful?

So how does someone create more time in their life? There are lots of tips, magazines articles and books written on time management that I could no doubt read. But I don’t think it’s about that. I think it’s more about the beautiful quote,”our greatest fear is not that we are inadequate but that we are powerful beyond measure.” What if I actually painted, on a regular basis? I might get good at it. And then I would be doing something that I love and I would have to let go of my best friends “the excuses” that have been by my side for a long time. It can be scary to let go and move out of your comfort zone, even if it’s in the direction of something you love. But when you become aware that your excuses are overpowering your desire to do something that brings you incredible joy, the choice becomes stay stuck or take the risk to become “powerful beyond measure”. I choose powerful, it feels much better to me.

I got out my easel today. I treasure the feel of the brushes in my hand, worn wooden handles with splatters of paint from past creations. They are instruments. Bringing forth my reverence for the natural world, depicted on canvas. There is nothing like taking a vision in my head and seeing it emerge through my hands into reality.

What is it you love but don’t make time for? Whatever it is, take a small step in that direction. The rest will figure itself out once you rekindle the spark within you. Happy discovering to you.

Leave a Reply

