Take time for yourself, you deserve it

I took the day off today. That doesn’t happen much in this busy season, but this day was well earned.

Not surprisingly, at first I had no idea what to do with myself. I poured myself a cup of tea and gazed outside at the glorious fall day. I don’t know how long I sat there, quite awhile I think, letting my brain decompress from the “to do list”.

The fall leaves beckoned me outside. Grabbing my head phones and zipping up my warm coat, I breathed in the crisp autumn air with a smile. We have a great trail by our house where you can easily walk/bike for miles. I rocked out and walked for four miles today. Heaven. The leaves were my company as I walked between their vivid hues of magenta, orange and lime green. How easy it is to miss the beauty of the changing seasons unless we allow ourselves to slow down and enjoy the experience.

After my walk, I made a healthy lunch, took a nap and curled up with a great book. “Lost and Found” by Geneen Roth, unexpected revelations about food and money…fascinating.

As the kids came home from school, we played basketball and raked up huge piles of Maple and Birch leaves. Laughing and playing golf with the leaves, we cleared the grass for the snow we hope will come this winter.

The afternoon turned to evening, we made little personal pizzas, snuggled in and watched a movie. My thoughts turned to thankfulness, for today, for the love that fills my life, for this sweet time to reflect on what’s truly important to me.

Take time for yourself. Your family and loved ones will thank you for it. You will feel renewed and be ready for whatever beauty life has in store for you next.

20131109-145749.jpg

20131109-145821.jpg

2 thoughts on “Take time for yourself, you deserve it

Leave a Reply

