Dreaming with a broken heart

images (3)“Dreaming with a broken heart”, by John Mayer has been playing on my piano for days. The babysitter taught it to all three of my kids, and they play it multiple times a day. It’s a beautiful song.

Since its been running through my head for days, it got me thinking. Broken heart – who hasn’t had THAT happen?! It’s no fun. We get mopey, eat more junk food than normal, write sappy poetry (in my case) and cry over what we thought was love.

Perhaps for a little bit we just need to focus on coming to terms with “it not working out” or feelings of rejection or love that isn’t reciprocal anymore. That’s just part of the deal.

Maybe we put our dreams on a shelf for a minute while we grieve. We can still see them and we know they will be right where we put them when we are ready to pick them up again. They are never gone, it’s just our turn to focus on self care and eventually what we can learn from the situation.

Our dreams our never gone during this time. In fact depending on the situation, we might be able to see them better than we did before. It might be very clear to us what we want, what we don’t and what is the next step in the in direction of our dreams.

Over the last couple of years, I have has the chance to meet heartbreak pretty up close and personal. I didn’t break. I didn’t do everything perfectly and the other person wasn’t just wrong. It just was the way it was and it worked the way it worked.

In all of that, I met a person that I really like. A person with strong values, good boundaries, and more strength than she knew.

That person is me.

I’ve learned a lot through this process. It turns out, its ok to stand up for what I know to be true. It’s ok to feel heart break and keep on trucking in the direction you want to go.

It’s ok to dream with a broken heart. Whatever your situation is, know that it too shall pass. And always, always keep on dreaming.

One thought on “Dreaming with a broken heart

Leave a Reply

