Looking for change

Every once in awhile I get disgruntled about something, work, our house, whatever and I go looking for change. I hop on craigslist to see what else is out there. I check in with friends and see what’s new with them so I can live vicariously when my to do list feels boring.

It occurs to me that this is a reaction to the situation, whatever that might be, too much work, etc.

What would it look like if we moved towards what we want on a regular basis instead of being jump started by displeasure. I get that there are a lot of things that create change. Some of it is organic, some created by outside pressures and some change comes from listening to that quiet little voice within us.

So many of us live busy lives and how many of us honestly stop to say, “what do I want?” I mean REALLY want. I’ve done this before but it occurs to me that it is a process instead of a one time thing. What do I really want right now? It’s the same thing it was 3 months ago but I haven’t taken action on it so it’s still there. Oh.

After you have asked yourself what you really want, one of the best ways to make change is to make small changes in the direction of goal. Always wanted to be a painter? Sign up for 1 class, just 1 and check it out.

Here’s one that seems obvious but it VERY helpful…take a look at how you are spending your time. How much are you surfing facebook instead of writing the great American novel. How much are you helping others with their goals and not focusing on yours? Are you busy all the time? With what? If you want to create change, it’s important create some space for that to happen. You don’t have to drop everything, but honoring that you would like to create something new and allowing time for that is an important step in manifesting the life of your dreams.

Happy Travels!

One thought on “Looking for change

  1. Quite excellent! So glad you’re sharing some aspects of your inner adventure with the world ! Loving you, Mom

Leave a Reply

