Starting the week off right!

photoIt’s the start of a new week. I’m up before the sun, and the kids today. Sipping dark coffee and writing by candlelight. The kids will be up any minute, in fact I hear feet. And the yard waste truck make it’s morning rounds.

As this new week starts, it occurs to me that just as we have a new beginning every day, we have a new beginning every week as well.

This week I choose to start with an intention. To everyday do something kind and centering for myself. I have been going a million miles an hour with a new job, a new house and school starting. All work and no play makes for very grumpy me. So this week, I choose to put myself on the list.

Yesterday, a good friend and I spent the afternoon prepping meals for the week. I now have a cauliflower leek soup, beets, Thai salad, taco fixings for meals, banana-zucchini muffins, and tons of carrots and cucumbers all cut up. The kids and I made all of lunches and snacks for the week, and labeled them in bags, Monday…Tuesday, etc. Now when it is time to make a sandwich, or grab leftovers, their popcorn, apples and veggies are ready to throw in the lunch box too. I’m excited to see how much easier this makes meal and lunch preparation during the week.

I loved chopping, mixing and talking with a good mama friend. I ended up making way more food than I thought because I was having so much fun!

It’s amazing what we can accomplish when we put our mind too it. When we set an intention for something. This week is full of baseball and school meetings this week. I will be interested to see how I will find to infuse this days with centering and kindness. Maybe it will be a cup full of steaming tea the baseball field, or a walk through the campus at work in between meetings. I don’t have it all planned out, but I am setting the intention and that is a great way to start the week off right. I will let you know how it goes at the end of the week!

Whatever “starting the week off right” means to you, go for it. May you have a wonderful week filled with your intentions.

 

Leave a Reply

