Beauty comes in all sizes.

IMG_2774I’m not a size 2. I have curves and a body that has had children. I won’t be on the cover of a magazine anytime soon.

And yet, I feel beautiful.

As women, we don’t really talk about feeling beautiful in our society. It is seen as boastful and arrogant. There is a cultural idea that we “should” feel bad about ourselves if we are not skinny, our hair isn’t shiny all the time and we don’t have flawless skin. Well, I don’t buy it.

I’m sorry but that’s not my kind of beautiful. The kind of beauty I see in my friends and women older and younger comes from a sparkle in their eye. It’s their sense of style, their laughter and kindness. We have such an incredible wealth of gorgeousness in our world.

I don’t know when we got the idea that we should not celebrate it that but today, I’m calling us out. Women, you are remarkable, just the way you are. You don’t need to model yourself after magazines that are made to sell products not support your well-being. You can celebrate your inner and outer beauty, starting now.

I tell my daughter this as we talk about photos we see on the magazine rack in the grocery store. But somehow, it still gets in, images are everywhere. We think if this part or that part of us was different, then we would be really beautiful. So we go in search of that. The perfect lipstick, shoes, outfit, man to tell us we are beautiful or worthy.

Women, men, kids – listen… you are perfectly designed, you have a deep beauty within you that wants to radiate out into the world. All you need to do is believe. You are beautiful.

images (3)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

