October begins the season of fall

It’s October. Hello fall.

Leaves colorful, falling from the trees. The heater finally turned on after a warm summer. Sweaters, umbrellas and rain.

October is a big deal around our family. Two out of my three kids have birthdays, one day apart. We love to celebrate the holidays so Halloween decorations and conversations about costumes begin. This year I have a huge- I mean 400 people- aerialists pouring champagne from the ceiling – kind of huge fundraiser at work too.

I person could hypothetically speaking wake up with a sore throat and need to chug vitamin C throughout the day. They could again hypothetically eat Pho soup for lunch and feel so tired that they just want to close the office door and take a nap on the floor.

With the amount of details that the a human brain needs to collect and analyze these days, it’s no wonder we go on overload from time to time. I asked my boss today how she deals with stress. She has three kids, works 80 hours a week and all of her kids have sports most nights a week. From the outside it seems impossible. When I asked her about it, she said she doesn’t think about, she lives in the moment.

I’m glad she mentioned that. I have been learning more and more to live in the moment, and it feels great. Today we took the Myers Briggs test with our leadership team. Forever, I have been and ENFP (Extroverted Intuiative Feeling Perceiving) but today, I was a ENSP (Extrovert Sensing Feeling Perceiving). I am a total nerd when it comes to personality tests, I love them. So this one took me by surprise. It turns out the “sensing” change means that I use all of my senses to make decisions. That I am using all of my senses to make decisions instead of just my intuition. I find this change to be interesting, apparently we change as we get older. I haven’t decided yet if this change is a survival technique to deal with the amount of stimulus coming in or more of a change to living more mindfully in the moment. Time will tell.

Either way, I am looking forward to fall. The classic crunch of the leaves beneath my feet, the crispness in the air, my knitting warm in my hands. To celebrating birthdays and then the season slowing down, more soups on the stove, little hands in mittens and the season of gratitude.

Happy fall!

Leave a Reply

