Discovering certainty in uncertain times

20141012-095913.jpgYesterday, was an interesting day.

Among other things, another driver and I backed into each other in the Safeway parking lot, we are all fine. A good friend is going through challenging cancer treatments and we had a tornado and an earthquake where we live. We live in western Washington. There hasn’t been a tornado warning around here since 1969. I felt the earthquake last night around 11:30pm. It was a 3.5 I think.

I had 5 kids sleeping in my house last night.

I woke up this morning feeling kinda freaked out. Like what can we really count on when the earth is literally moving underneath us?!

Just then, as if beautifully orchestrated by the wise universe, my 7 year old son came into my room. All wrapped up in his fuzzy blanket with a good morning smile, he snuggled into bed with me.

And then I remembered what we can count on, all the time, no matter what the situation is… Love. Always love.

They say love is the absence of fear. I get that a little more this morning. I snuggled my little guy and then joined the day, refocused. Chocolate chip pancakes with strawberries and whip cream for all.

There is always good, even in uncertain situations. Yesterday, with all of its complexities was a great day. I took my daughter and a couple of her friends to the pumpkin patch. This almost 12 year old and her friends, galloped through the corn maze, flung pumpkins in the pumpkin sling-shot and searched for the perfect pumpkin. Gleeful and young at heart, I was inspired by their joy. I found the perfect pumpkin for me too.

As the day begins, I choose love. I choose the memories of the pumpkin patch yesterday and the new memories that will be created today.

May your day be filled with love.

20141012-095952.jpg

Leave a Reply

