Homemade Thanksgiving

thanksgiving-leaf-garlandToday all over the United States families are gathering together to give thanks. Some families will gather and watch football, others will volunteer to serve meals to our homeless neighbors. It’s a day of family, delicious food and gratitude. I love to host Thanksgiving. The last couple of years my Mom and I have cooked at my Dad’s house and we have invited between 9 and 15 people.

This year I am hosting at my own house, for the first time in a very long time. We will have a smaller thanksgiving, just family. Originally, I thought I might not want to have it at my house. Thinking of the holidays without a partner seemed challenging. Plus, there are the usual family dynamics, but then I remembered that one of my goals for my children is to have memories of family experiences in our house.

So, I decided to go for it. Sure I might miss having that special someone to snuggle up with after all of the cooking, but I won’t let that stop me from creating new memories. It’s possible that a family member or two might have some “suggestions” on how I can do things, they are entitled to their opinions and I am entitled to not let it bother me.

And so, I am mixing, stirring and creating the recipe for a scrumptious homemade Thanksgiving.

On the menu we will have Turkey (of course), cornbread and sausage stuffing, mashed potatoes and gravy, roasted garlic green beans, apple pie (made by my daughter), pumpkin pie and homemade whipped cream. Mmm… I am drooling just thinking about it.

It’s also a special day, my Mom’s birthday. To honor this incredible and loving woman, mother and grandmother, we will enjoy an original song and performance by my three kids. Complete with piano, guitars and harmony. My eyes would not stop watering when they performed it for me…

We will play charades. We will watch a slide show of the last year that the kids and I created.

We will talk about what we are grateful for.  All of us have things to be grateful for, no matter what our circumstance or situation might be.

I wish you a wonderful Thanksgiving filled with love, deliciousness and gratitude.

 

 

Leave a Reply

