Rediscovering Home

IMG_0585-0.JPGI started blogging a few years ago as a way to process big feelings after my divorce and as I navigate single parenthood. To share any growth or learning I might have with others in hopes it would inspire and help them in their journey.

There has been a lot of good and a lot of big feelings over the last few years. Lately, blogging feels like a place to share thoughts and feelings but less and less a place to share my deepest moments.

I’m going to switch it up. I’m going to stop writing sappy lost love poetry and start writing about this incredible life I’m living and about some of the joyful things happening in my life. Also, I’m going to spend more time living my life. This weekend I didn’t look at my phone. I forgot it at home today and didn’t miss it one bit. Why? Because my life is entertaining enough without having to search for meaning on Facebook.

This weekend I fixed a bunch of stuff around the house and went for a bike ride with the kids. We played scrabble and made crock pot meals. It was one of the best weekends I have had in a long time.

My kids are my heart. We are a family, my three kids and I. Sure I wouldn’t mind meeting a handsome fella someday. But until then, we are ok. We are great actually. I’ve noticed that when I stop feeling like there is a deficit in my life and instead love and appreciate what’s right in front of me, I feel much more joy.

My home is right here. With laughing kids, chamomile tea, and gratitude.

As we give thanks with friends and family tomorrow, I will give thanks for many things. One thing I am grateful for is rediscovering home.

IMG_0587-0.JPG

Leave a Reply

