Loneliness is not always comfortable but it’s okay

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/112/31481414/files/2014/12/img_0673.jpg If I stop for a minute and take I look around, sometimes I feel lonely. It’s almost funny because I have three smart, very active kids who keep me incredibly busy. It’s the evenings after they go to bed and I realize that it’s just me in my big queen size bed.

It’s not that I dislike being alone, I actually love solitude. It’s just the missing of good times with loves of the past and planning my life without a love partner that get to me sometimes. I don’t really “need” a partner, but I would enjoy having one someday. That line from the movie Jerry Maguire, “you complete me” has always rubbed me the wrong way. I’m complete thanks, and… someday I would love to have a special person to talk about my day with, to plan vacations and to share this big beautiful life with.

Until then, when these waves of loneliness come through, I will recognize them as just that – waves that will come and then go. I will watch the movement of the wave, the feelings, the motion, and then I will move on.

Maybe someday, I will look at loneliness as more of a friend. An emotion that arises to share information with me for my well being. Right now, feeling lonely just sometimes sucks. And that’s okay.

Here’s to being real, being a friend to yourself, and being okay exactly how you are.

Leave a Reply

