One Word for 2015

I read an article recently about choosing one word that will be yours for the year, instead of usual New Years resolutions. By focusing on this one word, you are creating that intention and it is much easier to remember than the 1-10 items you want to change in your life.

I’ve been noddling on this concept for a few days and several words come through for me. I love words so this has been a fun process.

Over the last several months, I have ended a long term relationship, moved and started a new job. I could choose healing or peace or love and they would all fit well.

This year, the word I choose is completion.

I picked this word for a number of reasons but mostly because it feels like there are a few things I need to finish. I choose to truly release my ex. I choose to completely deal with the inbox at work (instead of stacking and avoiding). I choose to dive into my creative projects and finish them with flare. My sense is that by completing things more fully instead of leaving them open and hanging out there, I will find a sense of completion that feels honorable to who I am and who I am becoming.

I will complete the books on the bedside table, and letting go expectations of how things should be. I know the expectations one is a life long process. I guess what I’m saying is that I’m all in. Enough excuses, distractions and disillusion.

I’m a single mama with three kids, a great job and people that love me. While my life might be different than I thought it would be, honestly what I thought it was going to be that doesn’t matter anymore. This is my life and in many ways it’s better than I would have imagined.  This is a year of embracing the truth and truly loving life.  I feel very blessed.

On New Year’s Eve, instead of going to a party we invited some friends over and hosted an art party focused on our words for the year. We came up with words like Focus, Mindful, Heal, Happy, and Organization. Our projects turned out beautifully – a mixture of paint, collage, canvas and intention. Here’s mine…

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/112/31481414/files/2015/01/img_0738.jpg

They will be a beautiful reminder of our focus for the year.

As I focus on completion throughout year, I will be giving myself the gift of being more fully being present in my life. That is priceless.

What will your word be for 2015?

Leave a Reply

