Reflections through the window pane

windowCoffee, a journal and this computer are my company this morning as I gaze out the window at the passersby. Downtown Olympia has a unique state government meets Bohemia flare. The guy smoking and playing video games outside, the opera playing in the coffee shop, the homeless man looking for the next place to call home and the guy with the department of licensing badge on his way to work.

We all come together to make up this little town that is trying to figure out who it wants to be when it grows up. I guess we are all working on who we want to be individually as well.

Today I am finishing a few articles I started awhile back. I have been recovering from Pneumonia for a couple of weeks and I will tell you, it’s hard to keep a good woman down, but this one had me pause to appreciate life a bit more than normal.

It’s continues to amaze me how fast life gets and quickly it can get out of balance. I get that I should know this by now but apparently, it is a continued learning process. For a long time I’ve thought of “life balance” as the holy grail. Something out there that I aspire to attain someday. Upon further reflection, it seems like we all just make it up as we go along, doing the best we know how, screwing up and then re-calibrating. Maybe it’s not that I have been doing it wrong and that it’s out there somewhere just beyond my reach, maybe it’s more of a work in process, just like life. Less of a “you will arrive” and more of a “make it up as you go along”.

As I watch the couple arguing in the volvo station wagon, I realize that life just is. Right this moment. Not somewhere we will arrive someday. It’s the raspberry jam on the kitchen floor, the laughter of the kids as they attack each other with pillows, it’s the moment when you tuck in the youngest one and he hugs you a bit longer than yesterday. If I had a grand reflection through the window pane, it would be that I am a rich woman. Rich with love and summer sun and moments that are building a life that I am proud of.

What are your reflections through the window pane?

Leave a Reply

