Prayer shawl 

  I started making this prayer shawl three years ago. Originally I was going to make it for someone in need. My friends from the church I was going to at the time were whipping them out. As I started knitting this shawl, realized this was going to take me a loooooong time. I came to love it, the feeling of the yarn in my hands and realized just like they say on the plane, put your oxygen mask on first. I could use this special blanket filled with love in my life. As a single mom, I could use the warmth and care this blanket signifies. It turns out the person in need of this special shawl is me.

I have knitted this shawl in three different houses, at baseball games, while snuggled on the couch with my kids or my former sweetie. I have knitted when I was sad, hungry, laughing and happy. It has seen it all.

I stopped working on this a few times to make other projects, a shawl for my mom and several fruit hats for new babies. I always knew I wanted to come back and finish this project someday. As a way of showing myself self-love and caring.

Last week, while watching a movie with the kids, I actually finished it. I pulled it over my shoulders and it felt like a great big hug. I took a deep breath and made a huge exhale. The kids laughed because I couldn’t take it off. I wore it around for hours and slept with it that night. I guess you are never too old to have a special blankie. 
Here’s to warmth, self-love and caring – for the people around you and for yourself. 

Leave a Reply

