Gratitude- Day 21 – Shine 

  “You are a diamond. What other people think of you is irrelevant. Your job is just to shine.” -me. 

It’s taken me along time to embrace my shine. We all have it, but sometimes is covered up by fear, past hurt, or insecurities. 

I am fortunate to be surrounded by inspiring, brave women who are letting their light shine daily.  These two remarkable women and friends of mine just won the Women of Achievement awards for their work with at-risk youth. 

 This is my remarkable daughter who sparkles so beautifully.  

I don’t know how I finally got it – that I have something valuable to share – but I did. My confidence feels strong, and I believe that I have a gift to bring that is uniquely mine to share. We’ve come a long way baby from the young woman who had no idea how strong she was. 

Honestly, I think it’s been the challenges I have faced as a single mom that have helped transform me into someone who believes in herself. It turns out, if you can raise three kids by yourself and experience all of the middle of the night moments that stretch your courage, it changes you into a bit of a warrior. And with that, the stuff you used to put up with just doesn’t cut it anymore. You don’t have time for junk that people want to give you like judgement, possessiveness and insecurity. When that used to come my way, I would say, “sure I’ll have another helping”. Now I say, “No thank you”. 

It’s not perfect yet, but it’s so much better than it used to be. For that, I am so grateful. Because, I have things to do in this world. I have my own unique sparkle to let shine. And so do you. 

Today I am grateful for the sparkle that comes from within each of us. May you shine brightly.  The world will be a better place because you believe in yourself and let that belief radiate. 

Leave a Reply

