Priorities and choices

 I’ve heard of this phenomenon where you get older and you start thinking about things a new way. You realize that you truly are what you eat, that you have to come up with some kind of “practice” to manage the stresses of life, and you realize that your family is more important than your friends. 

I’m in this moment. I didn’t think I would be here at 42, but I am. All of a sudden, priorities got very real. 

Reprioritizing is a good thing. It can be easy to go through life focused on success and monetary gain, and unintentionally let loved ones take a backseat. I’m very fortunate to live close to my family and I’m very connected with them. Even with our connection, I can see that the quality time that is so rich falls off the list when work, sports and volunteering take over.

The choices we make, even the little ones  tell a lot about us. Do you take a reusable coffee mug to the coffee shop or buy coffee in a plastic cup? Do you call your parents often? Do you play Legos on the floor with your kids? Do you take time to vision what’s next in your life? These are all questions I ask myself.

Most of the time the answers are yes, but boy, the world of distraction can sure be inticing. Just one more show, cookie, Facebook like…

I guess it comes down to choosing what’s truly important to you on a daily basis and taking action to turn those priorities into reality. I sat across the dining room table having tea with a dear friend this weekend. It was such a joy and comfort to be with her. When our visit ended I felt so grateful for our sweet time together and that life had brought us together as friends. 

Priorities and choices, what’s important to you today? 

  

Leave a Reply

