Someone that I used to know

I never thought

you

would turn out to be

someone that I used to know.

So many sand castles

built together

now washed away

in the tide.

The western red cedar

I thought of as so strong

cracked in a windstorm

becoming

a nurse log for new,

unrelated growth.

Thunderstorms rattle

through my brain

when I think of how things ended.

Thunder,

lightning

and rain,

all mixed up in a

southwest

squal of feelings.

It wasn’t meant to be

my friends say,

but they don’t know you.

I will never forget

how you turned your back

and walked away

when I needed you most.

The weather calls for showers today.

Someday soon,

the sun will shine

and spring rains

will turn into summer’s

warmth and sun again.

Until then,

this day,

I walk down the street,
I see you in a coffee shop,

someone that I used to know.

One thought on “Someone that I used to know

Leave a Reply

