Let’s get some order up in here

Ok so, we have a habit. It’s called going all the time and not creating time for order. I don’t mean that we are slobs but our lives are very full and we have room for growth in the order category.

My kids all play sports, I am a single mom and I am very active in the community. When we finally slide into home on the weekend, our house is a mess. So then we spend the whole weekend cleaning, doing laundry, and chores instead of some much needed downtime.

I’ve been thinking a lot about this recently and picked up a couple of books as resources, one is called Cleaning House by  Kay Wills Wyma and the other is “The life-changing magic of tidying up” by Marie Kondo. These two trailblazers have great wisdom about how to work with your family to create a new zen-like atmosphere that is welcoming to you and your community.

We are currently in the beginning stages of this process after much trial and error by this supermom. I have tried the whiteboard, asking, lists, demands, I even had a meltdown and started crying once (I put a few coins in their therapy jar for that one). The truth is, it’s hard. Harder for some than others. We are in a habit where people put things down wherever they feel like it and then it stays there until usually I get annoyed. Or we spend the weekend cleaning when it would be lovely to have downtime.

So baby steps, last weekend I cleaned my desk (hello lead by example mama), this weekend my boys are working on their desks as I write this. It’s a start. Now the question is A. how do we keep things clean and B. how do we keep up this idea of putting things where they go instead of on the closest surface? I don’t know, but something needs to change and this is a great step in the right direction.

Here’s to order, a sense of peace and building new habits, one piece of clutter at a time.

Leave a Reply

