Flying solo 

It’s funny really, I’ve been doing this parenting thing so long by myself that I really don’t realize that I’m flying solo. 10 years, 3 kids, and 1 mama. 

It’s the birthdays and holidays when I remember there was another parent that started this whole journey with me. This weekend was my daughter’s 14th birthday. 7 kids going on a scavenger hunt downtown.  I don’t know where my ex is and I’ve come to terms with that but sure it would be helpful to have a hand sometimes.

Like today for example, it’s a Monday. I woke up tired from an event Thursday and Friday nights, a sleepover, and running the kids around to choir retreats and football games. I decided to wear a power color and picked red. In my cute red dress I made my green smoothie because I care about me, in goes the spinach, apple, cucumber, celery and then… out goes the smoothie, all over my dress.

I ate fried eggs, with my hands, while driving because my fork fell on the floor. The house was a disaster when I left, but hey, at least I remembered to lock the door!

I went to work for 8 hours and left with a bad attitude, which is pretty unusual for me. Then  I went to happy hour with some women leaders and blew off some steam. I came home and the babysitter had cleaned the house. Hallelujah! I sat under my kid’s long legs while we watched a show. Another kid flushed the toilet and water poured out, all over the floor. 10 towels and 1/4 a bottle of cleaning solution later and we were good. 

I put the kids to bed, 1 kid slept in his day clothes, the other had no blanket so we fixed that and the third gave me an extra hug because I “looked sad”. “I’m alright I said, tougher things have happened and tomorrow’s a new day”.

And that’s just it, tomorrow’s a new day. Tonight I’m observing this moment and saying out loud to myself, you’re doing a great job mama!! 

And now this supermama is off for a goodnight’s sleep. Thanks for listening and sweet dreams!

One thought on “Flying solo 

Leave a Reply

