Magic in relationship

healthy-relationshipsIt starts off with a blind date or a glance across a crowded room… you meet someone. Someone you know is going to be special in your life. In romantic comedies and Disney movies they hero helps the princess (or occasionally the in the feminist version the gal helps the fella – booyah!), they have true love’s kiss and live happily ever after.

Well, in my life, it hasn’t quite gone that way. It’s been more of a journey on the less traveled road with beautiful scenery and a hint of magic.

goal-map1

Eight years ago I met someone. It was a blind date. It was summer, he was wearing a blue shirt that matched his eyes and I was wearing a light purple scarf, so he could find me in the crowd. He talked a lot. My friend that set us up told me he would do that if he was nervous. I’m thankful she told me because it made it very cute. We drank beer and ate french fries and then went outside for a walk. I don’t know idea where we walked but he said turn left and right, always walking on the outside of the sidewalk so I wouldn’t be close to the cars. He toured me around our city, showing me things I had never seen before. It was surprising, fun, and well, surprising. I didn’t see that coming.

Before I got home, I received a sweet email saying he had a great time and would like to see me again. Cue: butterflies in tummy.

In this love story, the heroine had three small kids and the hero had one. The summer was filled with long walks, sweet kisses and kid adventures in nature. As it turns out our main characters also brought some history and baggage with them that make the road a little bumpy. They traveled together off and one for several years. Each time they reconnected after a bump, it was like no time had passed. They cared for each other and it was evident. They were the moon and the sun, always rotating in the same space and needing each other, but somehow never seeing the light the other would shine on a consistent basis.

They even lived in the same universe for awhile. It was a small universe in her opinion with a lot of small moving planets. He made it beautiful but it still was too much for her. They parted ways, each to their own universe but thinking often of the space they shared together.

Fast forward two years, new jobs, new houses and still the same universal connection. The world as they knew it was changing, the big bad wolf had been elected to the United States Presidency. She tossed and turned that night, looking for safe space. Finally, she reached out, searching for a home that was comfortable and safe and found him. Right were he always was, just like magic.

One of the greatest lessons I have learned in this love story is to appreciate the moment. Right now, my heart is warm from the sun shining my direction, the stars twinkle just a little more knowing the sun and moon are in the same space. The snowflakes softly falling surround us as if to say, we see you two, and we wish you magic in relationship. And so the story continues. The path unknown but this moment? Spectacularly beautiful. 

Leave a Reply

