Closer to fine

I don’t know anyone who has it totally figured out. By that I mean…this thing called life, how to balance the responsibilities and the fun stuff with a side of self care. How to raise kids perfectly without any contributions to the “therapy jar” for later in life.

I do however know a number of people who have pieces to the puzzle figured out.

I know a single mama friend who travels all the time with her kiddo because she wants him to see the world, no matter how much that adds to her credit card.

Another friend works as an accountant and loves it. He gets up at 5am everyday and plays basketball at the Y with his people, and has done it for years.

Yet another friend does a lot of community work, he is everywhere during the week and on the weekend, he sips a glass of something and looks out his window at the lake in front of him…all weekend long.

I pick up pieces from a lot of people I know that are working to get their life in balance. I get that it’s a process of continuous of improvement. And… when do we get “Closer to fine” as the Indigo Girls say.

Recently I have been sensing that it is less searching out there – through books, facebook posts, spiritual masters and more – allowing what is inherently inside to grow and blossom.

Maybe it is a result of growing up with two parents in the helping professions, or my natural desire to understand equity and the root of suffering since I was tiny. But this search for answers has kept me moving for a long time, reading self help, and striving to figure this whole “life” thing out.

The thing is… I am figuring it out. And to be real, it’s really not something I need to figure out, it’s more a process I get to allow to happen and be as present as I can everyday to let awareness flow.

Today I know a few things I didn’t a few years ago. I know what makes me happy at a new level, I know how to honor my empathetic side instead of suppressing it. I know what empowering, safe and connective love feels like and I want more of it. I know it’s ok to sit on the couch and read a book, for fun.

As we travel this through this life, may you remember to slow down and, be ok right where you are. It’s not always easy, but take it from reformed doer, you’ve got this.

Here’s to being closer to fine, closer to loving openly, closer to daily self care and closer to exhaling into all is well.

 

