Unknown pathways 

  I see the pathway, 

my feet move forward. 

I don’t know where this pathway is going. 

Will it be a hard walk, 

or an easy stroll?

Will there be obstacles along the way, 

or fresh huckleberries lining the path? 

I don’t know. 

I see myself grasping at branches and shrubs, 

looking for grounding, 

for safe passage. 

Yet, these plants do not offer what I am looking for. 

I glance at the sky, 

hoping for a sign of the weather to come, 

but I just see a little ways ahead. 

I look down, 

discouraged, 

when out of the corner of my eye, 

I see the tiniest pink blossom.

It’s looking at me too, 

with a smile on its petals. 

As if to say, 

“Welcome to the pathway”. 

I stop and slowly look around, 

There,

right at my feet,

is a soft blanket of flowers,

I had never seen before. 

As I gaze ahead,

I see blossoms in hues of yellows, purples and pinks, 

I hear a creek running up ahead. 

I notice the birdsong that is serenading my journey.

I walk forward, 

with this new awareness, 

I see I am surrounded by life, 

by love. 

I am peaceful. 

I walk on, 

not knowing what will happen on this pathway, 

but knowing,

where to focus,

along the way. 

Leave a Reply

